Why am I posting about craft projects?!?

My first week at Mozilla happened to also be the Community Building Team Meet-up in San Francisco. I was able to attend and was amazed at the process of consensus building and creating respectful discourse. We worked on (in a very broad sense) how Mozilla is going to grow and scale into a million Mozillians over the next few years. Over the three days I got to see and participate in the different working groups and meet a lot of staff and volunteers alike.

It was know from early on that I have a knack for all things crafty and I was asked to bring in a small project to do with the group on the breaks. I got to blog about it on the Mozilla Blog. Here is my post: Crafty Blog

I have actually been doing technical things as well, I promise šŸ˜‰

Mozilla employees had the holiday off, but as an OPW intern, those 2 weeks are a pretty big chunk of my internship so we decided to find a project that I could do working in a void. One of the issues we discussed int he working groups was how to capture more of the interested potential volunteers that visit contributor sites on SUMO (Support Mozilla) site. My mentor suggested that I use my psychology (yes my actual degree, the one I learned about in school for all those years, crazy I know) to pull more of those people in. It ended up creating a small slide presentation that will hopefully be transformed into a quick course that people will take to get them started contributing. As soon as I can figure out a good, localizable platform (email me if you have an idea!!). I am getting closer, but my Javascript skills are minimal so it is taking an unreasonable amount of time, sorry Mozilla.

This coming week we are having the Engagement Team Meet-up in my hometown, so I am really excited about that!

I look forward to posting more details about how my projects are progressing and changing.

I'm a mild mannered community oriented lady who is coming out of a very long relationship and rediscovering myself. I have found so far that I love strange people of all varieties, on the bus, in the park, at work or next to me at dinner. They inspire and intoxicate me. Thank you San Francisco for providing all a woman could ask for.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

